FREE CONSULTATION GUIDANCE DUI LAWS DMV & YOUR LICENSE
       
     
   
   
   
   
   
   
Home   Domestic Violence   Criminal Driving   Traffic Tickets   Web Resources   Contact Us   Cahoonbooks
Copyright © 2010 The Cahoon Law Office - All rights reserved.

Washington Drunk Driving Attorneys Disclaimer: The DUI Defense, Drunk Driving, DMV Drivers License Suspension, Driving Under the Influence, Driving While Intoxicated or other DUI defense information presented at this site should not be considered formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth here were dependent on the facts of that case and the results will differ from case to case. Please contact a Washington State drunk driving lawyer or attorney for a free initial consultation. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Washington.

My DUI defense law firm serves the following Western Washington communities, among others: Snohomish County, King County, Skagit County, Alderwood, Arlington, Bellingham, Bothell, Brier, Camino Island, Darrington, Edgewood, Edmonds, Everett, Gold Bar, Granite Falls, Index, Lake Stevens, Lynnwood, Marysville, Mill Creek, Monroe, Mountlake Terrace, Tulalip, Mukilteo, Silvana, Smokey Point, Snohomish, Stanwood, Sultan, Woodway, Anacortes, Bow, Burlington, Clearlake, Concrete, Hamilton, La Conner, Lyman, Marbelmount, Mount Vernon, Sedro Wooley, Bellevue, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Mercer Island, Redmond, Seattle, Shoreline, Woodinville.

I also serve the following Zip Codes: 98011, 98012, 98020, 98021, 98026, 98033, 98034, 98036, 98037, 98043, 98046, 98052, 98072, 98082, 98087, 98201, 98203, 98204, 98205, 98206, 98207, 98208, 98213, 98223, 98241, 98251, 98252, 98256, 98258, 98259, 98270, 98271, 98272, 98273, 98274, 98275, 98287, 98290, 98291, 98292, 98293, 98294, 98296
Locations
Payments
Click here to make
an on-line payment
 
HOME

ATTORNEY PROFILE

10 TIPS IF YOU GET
STOPPED FOR DUI


TOP DUI QUESTIONS

WAYS TO FIGHT YOUR
DUI AND WIN!!!
New book by Craig Cahoon
for the families of those facing criminal charges
"What Do I Do Now?" Book Cover
What is a DUI?

Breath Test Refusal

Reading your ADR

BAC Ticket Explained

Alcohol Evaluations
License Suspensions

DMV Hearings

Underage Drivers

Driving without a License

Ignition Interlock License
  Bookmark and Share

BAC Result < .15 or No Test Result

No Prior Offense1

One Prior Offense1

Two or Three Prior Offenses1

Mandatory Minimum /Maximum Jail Time2

24 Consecutive Hours/365 Days

30/365 Days

90/365 Days

Mandatory EHM2

15 Days

60 Days

120 Days

Mandatory Minimum /Maximum Fine3

$865.50/$5,000

$1,120.50/$5,000

$1,970.50/$5,000

Driver's License

90 Day Suspension

2 Year Revocation

3 Year Revocation

II Driver’s License*

II Device

Required

Required

Required

Alcohol/Drug Ed. or Treatment

As Ordered

As Ordered

As Ordered

* See Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock

Requirements, page 4.

BAC Result = .15 or Test Refusal

No Prior Offense1

One Prior Offense1

Two or Three Prior Offenses1

Mandatory Minimum /Maximum Jail Time2

2 Consecutive/365 Days

45/365 Days

120/365 Days

Mandatory EHM2

30 Days

90 Days

150 Days

Mandatory Minimum /Maximum Fine3

$1,120.50/$5,000

$1,545.50/$5,000

$2,820.50/$5,000

Driver's License

1 Year Revocation

2 Years if BAC refused

900 Days Revocation

3 Years if BAC refused

4 Year Revocation

II Driver’s License*

II Device

Required

Required

Required

Alcohol/Drug Ed. or Treatment

As Ordered

As Ordered

As Ordered

* See Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock

Requirements, page 4.

Court Ordered Ignition Interlock Driver’s License and Device Requirements, RCW 46.20.720(2), 46.61.5055(5), 46.20.385, effective January 1, 2009*

Requirement

No Previous Restriction

Previous 1 Year Restriction

Previous 5 Year Restriction

II Driver’s License

II Device

1 Year

5 Years

10 Years

* See Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock Requirements, page 4.

Department of Licensing Required Ignition Interlock Device Requirements, RCW 46.20.720(3) June 10, 2004*

Requirement

No Previous Restriction

Previous 1 Year Restriction

Previous 5 Year Restriction

II Device

1 Year

5 Years

10 Years

* See Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock Requirements, page 4.


1Prior Offenses: Count all prior offenses where the arrest date of the prior offense occurred within 7 years before or after the arrest date on the current offense. RCW 46.61.5055(14)(b); Seattle v. Quezada, 142 Wn.App. 43, 174 P.3d 129 (Div. 1 2007). “Prior offense” is defined by RCW 46.61.5055(14)(a) to include–

Ü Original Convictions for the following: (1) DUI (RCW 46.61.502) (or an equivalent local ordinance); (2) Phys. Cont. (RCW 46.61.504) (or an equivalent local ordinance); (3) Veh. Homicide (RCW 46.61.520) or Veh. Assault (RCW 46.61.522) if either committed while under the influence; (4) Equiv. out-of-state statute for any of the above offenses.

Ü Deferred Prosecution Granted for the following: 1) DUI (RCW 46.61.502) (or equivalent local ordinance); (2) Phys. Cont. (RCW 46.61.504) (or equiv. local ordinance); (3) Neg. Driving 1st (RCW 46.61.5249, or equiv. local ord.), if the person was originally charged with DUI or Phys. Cont. (or an equiv. local ord.), or Veh. Hom. (RCW 46.61.520) or Veh. Assault (RCW 46.61.522). See Bremerton v. Tucker, 126 Wn.App. 26, 103 P.3d 1285 (Div. 2 2005); Seattle v. Quezada, 142 Wn.App. 43, 174 P.3d 129 (Div. 1 2007) (a revoked deferred prosecution only counts as one prior offense).

Ü Amended Convictions for the following: If the person was originally charged with DUI or Phys. Cont. or an equivalent local ordinance, or Veh. Homicide (RCW 46.61.520) or Veh. Assault (RCW 46.61.522) (1) Neg. Driving 1st (RCW 46.61.5249), (2) Reckless Driving (RCW 46.61.500),
(3) Reckless Endangerment (RCW 9A.36.050), (4) Equiv. out-of-state or local ordinance for the above offenses. See, Walla Walla v. Greene, 154 Wn.2d 722, ¶ 14, 116 P.3d 1008 (2005).

2Mandatory Jail and Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM): If there are prior offenses within 7 years of arrest date, the mandatory jail shall be served by imprisonment for the minimum statutory term and may not be suspended or deferred unless the court finds that imposition of this mandatory minimum sentence would impose a substantial risk to the offender’s physical or mental well-being. The mandatory statutory term may not be converted to EHM. Bremerton v. Bradshaw, 121 Wn.App. 410, 88 P.3d 438 (Div. 2 2004). Where there are no prior offenses within 7 years of arrest date, the court may grant EHM instead of mandatory minimum jail. If there are prior offenses, the mandatory EHM may not be suspended or deferred unless the court finds that imposition of this mandatory minimum sentence would impose a substantial risk to the offender’s physical or mental well-being. RCW 46.61.5055(1)(a)(i), (2)(a)(i), (3)(a)(i).

Mandatory Conditions of Probation for any Suspended Jail Time: The individual is not to:
(i) drive a motor vehicle without a valid license to drive and proof of financial responsibility (SR 22), (ii) drive while having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more within two hours after driving,
(iii) refuse to submit to a test of his or her breath or blood to determine alcohol concentration upon request of a law enforcement officer who has reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving or was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, except for ignition interlock driver’s license and device or alcohol monitoring requirements under RCW 46.61.5055(5), violation of any mandatory condition, requires a minimum penalty of 30 days confinement, which may not be suspended or deferred, and an additional 30 day license suspension. RCW 46.61.5055(11). Courts are required to report violations of mandatory conditions requiring confinement or license suspension to DOL. RCW 46.61.5055.

3Mandatory Monetary Penalty: PSEA 1, RCW 3.62.090(1); Alcohol Violators Fee,
RCW 46.61.5054; Criminal Justice Funding Penalty, RCW 46.64.055 (Note: RCW 3.62.090(1) and (2) apply to CJF penalty); Criminal Conviction Fee, RCW 3.62.085.

Felony DUI and Felony Physical Control: Laws of 2006, ch. 73, §§ 1-3 (effective July 1, 2007) created new class C felony crimes of Felony DUI and Felony Physical Control. With four priors within 10 years, or one prior conviction of Veh. Homicide or Veh. Assault (see above), a current offense is a Class C Felony punished under Chapter 9.94A RCW. “Within 10 years” means that the arrest for the prior offense occurred within 10 years of the arrest for the current offense. Laws of 2007, ch. 474 (effective July 1, 2007); RCW 46.61.5055(13)(c).

Jurisdiction: Court has 5 years jurisdiction.


Department of Licensing - DUI Administrative Sanctions and Reinstatement Provisions

(As amended through July 1, 2007)

ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS – RCW 46.20.3101

REFUSED TEST

First Refusal Within 7 Years And No Prior Administrative Action Within Past 7 Years*

Second or Subsequent Refusal Within Past 7 Years OR First Refusal And At Least One Prior Administrative Action Within Past 7 Years*

Adult

One Year License Revocation

Two Year License Revocation

Minor

One Year License Revocation

Two Year License Revocation Or

Until Age Twenty-One Whichever Is Longer

BAC RESULT

First Administrative Action

Second or Subsequent Administrative Action

Adults = 0.08

90 Day License Suspension

Two Year License Revocation

Minors = 0.02

90 Day License Suspension

One Year License Revocation Or

Until Age Twenty-One Whichever Is Longer

*Day for day credit for revocation period already served under suspension, revocation, or denial imposed under RCW 46.61.5055 and arising out of the same incident.--RCW 46.20.3101(4).

Ignition Interlock Driver’s License, RCW 46.20.385 (effective January 1, 2009)

May apply for an Ignition Interlock Driver’s License upon receiving RCW 46.20.308 notice or upon suspension or revocation. See “Court and Department of Licensing Ignition Interlock Requirements, page 4.”

Note: An individual convicted of DUI or physical control will have his/her driving privilege placed in probationary status for five years from the date he/she is eligible to reinstate his/her driver’s license (see RCW 46.61.5055 and 46.20.355). An individual granted a deferred prosecution under RCW 10.05.060 will have his/her driving privilege placed on probationary status for five years from the date of the incident, which was the basis for the deferred prosecution (see RCW 46.20.355 and 10.05.060).

REQUIREMENTS FOR REINSTATEMENT OF DRIVING PRIVILEGE

Suspended License* (RCW 46.20.311)

Revoked License* (RCW 46.20.311)

· File and maintain proof of financial responsibility for the future with the Department of Licensing as provided in chapter 46.29 RCW (SR 22)

· Present written verification by a company that it has installed the required ignition interlock device on a vehicle owned and/or operated by the person seeking reinstatement

· Pay $150 driver’s license reissue fee

· Driver’s ability test NOT required

· File and maintain proof of financial responsibility for the future with the Department of Licensing as provided in chapter 46.29 RCW (SR22)

· Present written verification by a company that it has installed the required ignition interlock device on a vehicle owned and/or operated by the person seeking reinstatement

· Pay $150 driver’s license reissue fee

· Satisfactorily complete a driver’s ability test

*If suspension or revocation is the result of a criminal conviction, the driver must also show proof of either (1) enrollment and satisfactory participation in an approved alcohol treatment program or
(2) completion of an alcohol information school, as determined by the court and/or treatment agency.


Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock Requirements, RCW 46.20.380, 46.20.385

Ignition Interlock Driver’s License, RCW 46.20.380, 46.20.385

Eligible to Apply

· Conviction of violation of RCW 46.61.502 or 46.61.504, involving alcohol

· License suspended, revoked, or denied under RCW 46.20.3101

· Proof of installed functioning ignition interlock device

Requirements

· During previous 7 years, no conviction for vehicular homicide or vehicular assault

· Proof of financial responsibility (SR 22)

Financial Obligations

· $100 mandatory fee to DOL.

· Costs to install, remove, and lease the ignition interlock device, and $20 fee per month, unless waived

Duration

Extends through the remaining portion of any concurrent or consecutive suspension or revocation imposed as the result of administrative action and criminal conviction arising from the same incident

Operation with Other Requirements

The time period during which the person is licensed under RCW 46.20.385, shall apply on a day-for-day basis toward satisfying the period of time the ignition interlock device restriction is required under RCW 46.20.720 and 46.61.5055

Court Ordered Ignition Interlock (II) Driver’s License and Device: The court may waive II Driver’s License and Device requirements upon written findings of fact when: (i) the devices are not reasonably available in the local area (ii) the person does not operate a motor vehicle (iii) the person is not eligible to receive the driver’s license under RCW 46.20.385. (RCW 46.61.5055(5) as amended by Laws of 2008, ch. 282, § 14). If the court waives the requirements, the court shall order the person to submit to alcohol monitoring for one, five, or ten years, and to pay for the monitoring. RCW 46.61.5055(5) (Laws of 2008, ch. 282, §, 14). II device is not required on employer’s vehicle driven during business hours upon proof to DOL of employment affidavit. The court sets the calibration level.

Court Ordered Discretionary Ignition Interlock (II) Device: The court may order discretionary II device requirements that last up to the 5-years jurisdictional limit of the court. The court sets the duration and calibration level. Discretionary II device restrictions begin after any applicable period of suspension, revocation, or denial of driving privileges. RCW 46.20.720(1) (as amended Chapter 95, Laws 2004).

Passenger Under Age 16: The Court shall order the installation and use of an II device for not less than 60 days if an IID is not mandatory under RCW 46.20.720 or 46.61.5055(5) and for an additional 60 days if an IID is otherwise mandatory.

Deferred Prosecution: For application in DUI Deferred Prosecution, see RCW 46.20.385, RCW 46.20.720(2), RCW 10.05.020 and RCW 10.05.140, which require II driver’s license and device in a deferred prosecution of any alcohol-dependency based case.

DOL Imposed Ignition Interlock (II) Device - RCW 46.20.720: For all offenses occurring June 10, 2004 or later, DOL shall require that, after any applicable period of suspension, revocation, or denial of driving privileges, a person may drive only a motor vehicle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device if the person is convicted of “an alcohol-related” violation of DUI or Physical Control. DOL required IID not required on employer’s vehicle during business hours upon proof to DOL of employment affidavit. DOL may waive requirement if the device is not reasonably available in the local area.

?> ?> ?> ?>
Translate
Experienced and Aggressive Criminal Defense
.

Court – DUI Sentencing Grid
(RCW 46.61.5055 as amended through January 1, 2009)

How DUI Court Works

DUI Penalties

Charge Reductions

Deferred Prosecutions

Court Watch
How may I help?

Call 866.529.5383

Fax 360.322.7360

cahoonlaw@gmail.com

Mailing:

The Cahoon Law Office
3405 - 172nd Street NE, #5-242

Arlington, WA 98223

Meetings (appt. Only)

122 East 5th Street
Arlington, WA 98223
Google Map to Building